12 Days of Fitness- Day 10- Win the Day!

There’s a fundamental difference between the things you do every day, every single day, and the things you do only when the spirit moves you.

One difference is that once you’ve committed to doing something daily, you find that the spirit moves you, daily.

Rather than having a daily debate about today’s agenda, you can decide once that you will do something, and then decide every single day how to do it.

~Seth Godin~

win the dayThink about if you only brushed your teeth before you went to the dentist. YUCK! I personally cannot go to bed unless I brush my teeth, nor can I leave the house in the morning unless I brush my teeth. Brushing my teeth is such a strong habit that if I travel and forget either my toothbrush or toothpaste, I will go to great lengths to get those items. I do not brush my teeth just when “I feel like it.” I brush them- period! Sometimes with our health and fitness, we wait for an event or the spirit to move us before we get started. I promise, the spirit is not that strong; daily habits are!  Have you ever heard lines like this???

  • I will start working out after the holidays.
  • I need to lose weight because I am going to the beach.
  • I have a high school reunion coming up, and I need to do something FAST!
  • I had a piece of cake last night and blew my diet.

If this is what your health and fitness plan looks like, chances are very high that you will quit as quickly as you began. What if instead of getting skinny, you decide to add a few habits EVERY DAY that will lead you on the path to fitness?

I am not perfect by any means, but I almost always win the day in these ways.

  • Make my bed. A few years ago I learned that if you can make your bed every day, you can add other simple disciplines, and the daily effect will add up.
  • Drink 8 cups of water– I have to be intentional about this!
  • Eat Breakfast high in protein- This is usually my breakfast of choice.
  • Take vitamins- This is my nutrition in a box.
  • Read at least 10 minutes a day- I need to nourish my mind as well as my body.
  • Stretch- Your body needs it daily

I do not “work out” every day, but I do workout about 3-4 times a week. I have friends who do a set number of pushups, burpees, crunches, etc… every day, and that is fantastic. If you like that, do it. Whatever you do, focus on winning the day with simple habits that will lead to great results!

Here’s to your success!

Dawn

Leave a comment